Harrisburg – November 17, 2017 – State Sen. Jim Brewster (D-Allegheny/Westmoreland) said today he was pleased that more than $380,000 in Safe Schools grants have been awarded to several school districts in Allegheny and Westmoreland counties. 

“The funding is critical in providing a safe learning environment for our children,” Brewster said.  “The grants can be used for training and compensating school resource and police officers, plus pay for safety programs and equipment.”

Brewster said that the wide range of funding will augment local efforts and enhance education opportunities for all students, while bolstering safety programs that protect students, faculty, staff and visitors to area school districts.

School Districts that received School Police/Resource Officer grants which are used for training and compensation of school resource officers and school police include:

  • McKeesport Area School District ($30,000);
  • South Allegheny School District ($20,000);
  • Baldwin-Whitehall School District ($60,000);
  • Plum Borough School District ($60,000);
  • Elizabeth Forward School District ($60,000);
  • Allegheny Township Police Department on behalf of Kiski Area School District ($60,000);
  • West Jefferson Hills School District ($40,000).

Brewster said the West Mifflin Area School District was awarded a Safe Schools Grant of $15,000 to address school safety, conflict resolution, dispute management, behavior support, risk assessment, training for risk-assessment and the development of research-based violence prevention programs. 

The senator said Penn-Trafford and Gateway were awarded Safe Schools Equipment Grants.  Penn-Trafford will receive $18,384 and Gateway $19,274 to assist in reducing unnecessary student disciplinary actions.



Comments are closed.