Subscribe to this e-update.  

Computer Science Dedicated Funding Awarded to Local Schools

Computer ScienceEducation grants dedicated to the implementation and improvement of computer science programs and career-readiness have been awarded to schools in Allegheny and Westmoreland counties, said Sen. Jim Brewster (D-Allegheny/Westmoreland).

“As computer technology continues to evolve, it is important that students can experience and learn new computer skills first hand,” Brewster said. “I am pleased that students in our area will benefit from Pennsylvania’s grants dedicated to improving computer science programs in local schools.”

Baldwin-Whitehall, Duquesne, East Allegheny and South Allegheny in Allegheny County, along with Burrell and Kiski school districts in Westmoreland, were approved for funding through the PAsmart initiative.   The grants are for $35,000 each. 

PAsmart grants are used to fund high-quality STEM and computer science courses for K-12 students, specifically those in low-income areas where access to up-to-date STEM technology may be limited.

Brewster noted that the state’s commitment to funding innovative technology and STEM education for Pennsylvania students has resulted in the state ranking second in the country for STEM education funding.

“PAsmart grants are an excellent investment in the future of our students,” Brewster said. “We must continue to provide for educational programs and opportunities that will prepare students to enter the ever-changing, fast paced workforce.”

A total of $8.7 million were distributed to 221 school districts for 765 individual schools. 

Twitter Facebook Stay Connected

For updates on this and other legislative initiatives, stay in touch with me on the Internet through my website, twitter, or on Facebook.





Offices to Serve You

Monroeville Office
One Monroeville Center
3824 Northern Pike
Suite 1015
Monroeville, PA 15146
Phone: 412.380.2242
Fax: 412.380.2249

Alle-Kiski Office
New Kensington City Hall
301 11th Street, Suite L
New Kensington, PA 15068
Phone: 724.334.1143
Fax: 724.334.1152

McKeesport Office
201 Lysle Boulevard
Suite 100
McKeesport, PA 15132
Phone: 412.664.5200
Fax: 412.664.5202

Harrisburg Office
458 Main Capitol Building
Senate Box 203045
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Phone: 717.787.5580
Fax: 717.772.3588