Harrisburg – February 26, 2020 – State Sen. Jim Brewster today said that $1.7 million in state school safety grants will soon be distributed to local schools.

Brewster, who represents portions of Allegheny and Westmoreland counties, serves as a member of the School Safety and Security Committee. He has been the General Assembly’s foremost advocate for addressing school safety issues. The funds were approved by the committee at its meeting today.

“These grants are critical tools that can be used to protect students, teachers, administrators and visitors to school facilities,” Brewster said. “As a member of the committee that approves these grants, I am keenly aware of the needs of area schools and committed to helping improve security.”

Brewster said that he would continue to work to adjust competitive grant criteria so that more school districts can access maximum funding. 

The following school districts in Brewster’s area will receive competitive and meritorious school grants:

Allegheny County:

  • Baldwin-Whitehall School District                                              $45,000
  • Brentwood School District                                                            $35,000
  • Clairton School District                                                                  $30,000
  • Duquesne School District                                                              $30,000
  • East Allegheny School District                                                     $481,508
  • Elizabeth Forward School District                                              $40,000
  • Gateway School District                                                                $40,000
  • McKeesport Area School District                                                $45,000
  • Plum Borough School District                                                     $40,000
  • South Allegheny School District                                                  $455,000
  • West Allegheny School District                                                   $40,000
  • West Mifflin Area School District                                               $40,000

Westmoreland County:

  • Burrell School District                                                                   $35,000
  • Kiski Area School District                                                             $40,000
  • New Kensington-Arnold School District                                   $35,000
  • Penn-Trafford School District                                                     $45,000
  • Westmoreland IU7                                                                         $239,000

Brewster has been a strong and vocal advocate of improving security at school facilities. He has sponsored a package of bills to enhance safety in schools. The legislation includes: the development of a school safety commission, requiring school safety upgrades to be part of approved school construction and rehabilitation projects, and armed guards in school building. 

In addition, last August the school safety committee approved Brewster’s request to create a subcommittee to explore the development of baseline safety and security standards that could be universally applied to all school districts. 

“We must keep providing grant funds to pay for safety upgrades to schools,” Brewster said. “Our children deserve a safe and secure environment that is conducive to education.”

The School Safety and Security Committee was established in 2018. The grants are administered through the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency.