McKeesport, May 13, 2013 – Following last week’s PA Supreme Court Decision to uphold the legislative redistricting plan, state Sen. James Brewster today said that he is pleased that the 45th District Senate seat will remain in Western Pennsylvania.

“I am pleased that the state Legislative Reapportionment Commission decided to retain the 45th District as an Allegheny/Westmoreland County seat and that the state Supreme Court upheld this plan,” Brewster said.  “This is such a unique community that now stretches from the South Hills of Allegheny County through the Mon Valley, the Turtle Creek Valley, through Monroeville and Plum Borough and into Westmoreland County.

“Our district now includes not only the Cities of New Kensington, Arnold and Lower Burrell but also Allegheny Township, and the Boroughs of Vandergrift, East Vandergrift, Hyde Park and West Leechburg.  Keeping a seat in the region is about retaining a voice for the region as it continues economic gains in various industries, including Marcellus Shale.”

A previous reapportionment plan rejected by the state Supreme Court on in Jan. 2012 threatened to move the 45th District, now based in the Mon Valley, to the Poconos in Northeastern Pennsylvania.

The court’s action on that plan forced the commission to act again and redraw the districts to reduce county and municipal splits.   The revised preliminary plan, upheld by the court this week, was adopted by the commission in April 2012 by a 4-1 vote. It retained the 45th District as an Allegheny County seat.

“This is a community steeped in rich family connections, histories and traditions,” Brewster said.  “As a former mayor of McKeesport and now representing this region in the state Senate, I am so proud to continue to serve the municipalities and the working families of my current constituency and I look forward to serving the needs of the new communities I will gain under this plan.”

The Legislative Reapportionment Commission is established by the state constitution and formed every 10 years to draw new state Senate and House district lines to reflect population shifts.   The commission is supposed to respect municipal boundaries and refrain from splitting counties or municipalities unless “absolutely necessary.”





Comments are closed.